Login Login with Facebook Register

The tide of fitness, people and their needs is changing again!

Posted December 08, 2015 07:08PM by Danthefitman in the Other Sports

Danthefitman
Danthefitman Dan Höering

I've been a fitness coach for a long, long time. No this isn't a Star Wars intro... And I've observed a shift again, the needs of people and their fitness needs and wants, and how they simply seem way less interested in coaching.

In simple terms, people want to do it themselves, versus pay for a service or hire a coach. With the advent of Smartphone Apps, YouTube how-to video's and the like - person to person contact is becoming less and less.

What you are your thoughts about this topic? Thanks in advance for your input.

Coach Dan

ps: I had to attach a photo of my MGB, Skye - Merry Christmas to you!

Dan Höering
dan@fitnessintraining.com
the body is a temple, not a warehouse

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 12/08/2015 08:38PM by Skye.

Attachments

Dan's 79 B.jpg 49.4 KB open | download
Dan's 79 B.jpg

Skye
Skye Skye Nott
@TheStaminist   Skye Nott Staminist.com

Hi Dan, welcome to the new forums!

I can definitely see how all the fitness tracking devices and mobile/web apps are taking a bite out of traditional fitness coaching. That is to say, that one coach can now design a fitness plan in software that serves hundreds if not thousands of people. People are happy to pay $10/month or whatever for access to, for example, TrainingPeaks which not only plots your training progression via power data and build plans, but can also provides a coaching interface where a coach can monitor and direct the training of many athletes from anywhere with an Internet connection.

Speaking personally, I definitely search the web and YouTube when I have a question. On the one hand, there is no guarantee that information you will get on the web is correct, but then again, there are a lot of coaches that aren't up to date on the latest research and "best practices" either.